Lightening your hair is as easy as A-B- Vitamin C

Published November 27, 2012 by hairandmakemeup

As you may or may not know I’m a licensed hairstylist in the state of New York. With that being said let me make this VERY clear, I do not think it’s the best idea for anyone to try to color, perm, relax or do anything chemical to their own hair ( or have their friends do it for them). It’s not ,at all, as easy as you think it is and you could seriously damage your hair and scalp. But because I know times are hard and no matter what I say every woman will try to do their hair at home at least once in their life. I’m here to give you some help so that when you do decide to go back to the salon, your hair isn’t, for lack of a better phrase, a hot mess.

So, getting back to what this blog is really about. Have you ever dyed your hair dark then later decide you’re ready for lighter hair, again? Or you’ve put one color over your previously colored hair and only your roots get lighter and the mid-shaft to the ends of your hair turn basically black? Well here’s a little secret…

COLOR CANNOT LIGHTEN COLOR

Meaning once you black you never go back…without the help of bleach. Bleach is like a bad word to so many people. Once I say “bleach” people shriek or act like I just called their mom a derogatory name. If and when bleach is used in the proper way it’s really not bad. It’s all about timing and knowing what you’re doing hence my intro to this blog. Because I really do not condone the use of bleach by nonprofessionals I have a little alternative. It’s none other than Vitamin C!

Now let me start off my saying Vitamin C will not make you bleach blonde. It will only remove SOME built up color on your hair. So if you’re trying to go from black to blonde using just Vitamin C, it’s just not going to happen.

So here’s what you do, in a bowl crush up 2-4 vitamin C tablets. The higher the milligram the better it’ll work. You can use a spoon or whatever works best for you just make sure they are crushed up into a powder like consistency. Then add a couple pumps of shampoo to the bowl. (use more pumps if you’ve used more tablets) Mix everything together. Now apply it to your hair with a tint brush trying to focus on the parts of your hair with the most color build up. Once its on your hair put a shower cap on and let it sit for 45 minutes or so. Be prepared for some colored water to drip so I advise you to put some towels around your shoulders or wear a shirt that can be stained. Once the time is up, wash out the vitamin C mixture and conditioner your hair as normal. You should see the difference in your hair and now you will have to use a hair color to get it to the exact color you want because stripping your hair will not give you a presentable color but will just give you a lighter canvas to work on.

My suggestions to you at home hair color experimenters are:

1. Do not use box colors sold at the drug store. They are awful and will almost never give you the color you want. Go to a beauty supple store and mix the colors yourself. When picking a developer heres what you need to know, use 10 volume if you’re going darker. Use 20 volume for almost everything else. 30 and 40 volumes are usually used with bleach for highlights or on virgin hair when mixed with a high-lift blonde hair colors.

2. This Vitamin C solution may work differently on everyone. It’s not full proof and depending on how porous your hair is, it may not work at all. If that’s the case, I really suggest going to a salon.

3. This Vitamin C Solution will not lighten virgin hair. It just removes artificial color built up on hair.

4. Like I said before, Vitamin C will not take the place of bleach it will only slightly lighten your hair. So if you’re trying to go from black to brown, this is something you might want to try. But if you’re going from dark colors to a light brown or blonde, go to a salon to get it lightened with bleach.

If anyone tries this let me know how it works for you! Or if you have any questions feel free to ask away! I love this stuff! =)

Image

6 comments on “Lightening your hair is as easy as A-B- Vitamin C

  • 2 questions
    1) can i use chewables and still get the same results?
    and 2) does it matter if they’re the orange flavoured/coloured ones?

  • I tried it, because I really wanted the color to lift completely. I dyed my natural black hair auburn brown. I let the mixture of about about 15 pills sit for 6 mins. Now my hair is even lighter…not what I wanted. I was expecting my black hair back. Should I do this againn?

    • OH NO SWEETIE! THIS MIXTURE IS TO LIGHTEN YOUR HAIR ONLY. IF YOUR HAIR IS NATURALLY BLACK AND YOU’VE COLORED IT AUBURN, YOU’RE BLACK HAIR HAS NOW BEEN PERMANENTLY LIGHTENED. IF YOU WISH TO HAVE YOUR HAIR DARK AGAIN YOU HAVE TO DYE IT THE COLOR YOU WANT. SORRY IF THAT WAS UNCLEAR

  • Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

